Killarney Heights High School

Respect Connect Aspire

Telephone02 9451 7005

Personal development, health and physical education

Personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE) is mandatory from Kindergarten to Year 10.

According to the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA), students are expected to participate in PDHPE for 300 hours per year in Years 7 to 10.

PDHPE provides students with opportunities to explore issues that are likely to impact on the health, safety and wellbeing of themselves and others – now and in the future. Students also participate in challenging and enjoyable physical activity, improving their capacity to move with skill and confidence.

In Year 11 and 12, courses available include:

  • Community and Family Studies
  • Exploring Early Childhood
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education
  • Sport, Lifestyle and Recreation Studies.


The PDHPE faculty is an innovative and enthusiastic faculty that focuses on delivering quality teaching to support 21st century learners.

The PDHPE faculty provides opportunities for all students to adopt lifelong healthy, active living. The knowledge, understanding and skills taught through health and physical education provide a foundation for students to enhance their own and others‘ health and wellbeing in ever-changing contexts.

Courses offered

The PDHPE curriculum offers the students the opportunity to partake in a range of different subjects from Years 7 to 12.

PDHPE Stage 4 and 5 (Years 7 to 10)

The aim in personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE) is to develop students' capacity to enhance personal health and wellbeing, enjoy an active lifestyle, maximize movement potential and advocate lifelong health and physical activity. This occurs in PDHPE through the development of knowledge, understanding and skills through 4 strands—self and relationships, movement skill and performance, individual and community health and lifelong physical activity.

Personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE) contributes significantly to the cognitive, social, emotional, physical and spiritual development of students. It provides opportunities for students to learn about, and practice ways of, adopting and maintaining a healthy, productive and active life. It also involves students learning through movement experiences that are both challenging and enjoyable, and improving their capacity to move with skill and confidence in a variety of contexts. It promotes the value of physical activity in their lives.

Physical activity and sports studies (PASS) content endorsed course (CEC)—Stage 5 (Years 9 to 10)

The aim of the physical activity and sports studies 9 for Years 7 to 10 syllabus is to enhance students' capacity to participate effectively in physical activity and sport, leading to improved quality of life for themselves and others. PASS represents a broad view of physical activity and the many possible contexts in which individuals can build activity into their lifestyle. It incorporates a wide range of lifelong physical activities, including recreational, leisure and adventure pursuits, competitive and non-competitive games, individual and group physical fitness activities, and the use of physical activity for therapy and remediation.

Child Studies 5 (Years 9 to 10)

Child studies explore the broad range of social, environmental, genetic and cultural factors that influence the prenatal development and a child's sense of wellbeing and belonging.

Society has a responsibility to provide a safe, nurturing and challenging environment for children in their early years, as this is crucial to optimal growth and development.

Personal development, health and physical education Stage 6 (Years 11 to 12)

The aim of PDHPE at Stage 6 is to develop in each student a capacity to think critically about key issues related to health and physical activity in order to make informed decisions that support and contribute to healthy, active lifestyles and communities.

PDHPE is an integrated area of study that provides for the intellectual, social, emotional, physical and spiritual development of students. It involves students learning about and practising ways of maintaining active, healthy lifestyles and improving their health status. It is also concerned with social and scientific understandings about movement, which lead to enhanced movement potential and appreciation of movement in their lives.

Sport, lifestyle and recreation Stage 6 (Years 11 to 12)

The sport, lifestyle and recreation content endorsed course (CEC) develops in each student the knowledge, understanding and skills needed to adopt active and health-promoting lifestyles. Sport, lifestyle and recreation enable Stage 6 students to build upon their learning in Kindergarten to Year 10 personal development, health and physical education. Specifically, it focuses on those aspects of the learning area that relate most closely to participation in sport and physical activity.

Community and family studies Stage 6 (Years 11 to 12)

Community and family studies (CAFS) Stage 6 aims to develop in each student an ability to manage resources and take action to support the needs of individuals, groups, families and communities in Australian society. Contemporary society is characterised by rapid social and technological change, cultural diversity, conflicting values and competitive pressures.

Developing an understanding of society and living in a society requires a comprehensive knowledge of its complex nature. Consequently, CAFS is an interdisciplinary course drawing upon selected components of family studies, sociology, developmental psychology and students' general life experiences. This course focuses on skills in resource management that enable people to function effectively in their everyday lives, in families and communities.

Courses overview

Stage 4

Stage 5

Stage 6